Home >
BOARD OF ED > Members
Election of Board of Education Members

The Berlin Board of Education is a nine member, non-partisan Board. Board members serve three-year terms, with three members up for election each year.

In order for an individual to be placed on the November ballot, he/she must obtain a petition form from the town clerk and obtain the signature of 1% of the registered voters in Berlin. Upon the certification of candidate's signatures by the town clerk, the individual's name will go on the ballot with no party designation. The top three vote-getters fill the three vacancies of the Board.

Reference: Town of Berlin Charter, Section 2-6

Board Member Qualifications

Individuals must be registered voters in Berlin in order to serve on the Board of Education. Employees of the Board of Education may not serve on the Board.

Beyond the minimum statutory requirements for Board service, it is expected that Board of Education members will share a commitment to providing an exceptional educational experience for each student, a willingness to work and study to become well-versed in public education and Berlin schools, and a sincere desire to be part of a high-functioning governing body that takes responsibilities of public service seriously.

Board Members

Mr. Matthew Tencza

President
matthew.tencza@berlinschools.org
Term: 2016-2019 
25 Ridgewood Lane
Kensington, CT 06037
860-829-6229

Dr. Kari Sassu

Secretary
kari.sassu@berlinschools.org
Term: 2015-2017 
69 Walden Court
Berlin, CT 06037
860-505-7244

MR. Jeffrey Cugno

jeffrey.cugno@berlinschools.org
Term: 2015-2018
34 Chatham Road
Kensington, CT 06037
860-832-8809

MS. JoAnn Angelico-Stetson

jangelico-stetson@berlinschools.org
Term: 2014-2017

188 Stony Mill Lane
East Berlin, CT 06023
860-690-7969

Ms. Robin Evans       

revans@berlinschools.org
Term: 2015-2018
1233 Worthington Ridge
Berlin, CT 06037
860-828-4555

MR. Jake Fisher

jake.fisher@berlinschools.org
Term: 2016-2019 
110 Elton Road
Kensington, CT  06037
860-829-8831

Ms. Jaymee MilLer       

jaymee.miller@berlinschools.org
Term: 2016-2019
710 Worthington Ridge
Berlin, CT 06037
860-922-0545

MrS. Julia dennis      

julia.dennis@berlinschools.org
Term: 2015-2018
115 Norton Road
Berlin, CT 06037
860-966-6038

Mr. Timothy Oakes

timothy.oakes@berlinschools.org
Term: 2014-2017
31 Belcher Hollow Road
Berlin, CT 06037
860-516-1558

MR. Steven Bordonaro

Student Representative
steven.bordonaro@edu.berlinschools.org
Grade 12
Term: 2016-2017 School Year

Ms. Jasmine Nappi

Student Representative
jasmine.nappi@edu.berlinschools.org
Grade 11
Term: 2016-2017 School Year

powered by finalsite